Forum Multiplayer development server trouble

Discussion and help relating to the PlayerIO Multiplayer API.

development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 8th, 2010, 3:21 am

I have ignored this problem for far too long, and its going to catch up to me some time, to i better deal with it. the development server does not work for me, and i cant figure it out. I keep getting "Error: Unable to connect to development server on localhost:8184. Is the development server running?" my code is
Code: Select all
client.multiplayer.developmentServer = "localhost:8184";
same as the example files. Any idea what's wrong? perhaps the port?

Edit: i have disabled windows firewall and my kaspersky, but it does not help.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby Toby » March 8th, 2010, 12:05 pm

You say you've been ignoring it so far, does this mean that you can actually connect and run a game with the development server, even with the error?

How long has it been doing this for as well, there was an outage yesterday which may have caused some problems while testing.
User avatar
Toby
 
Posts: 86
Joined: January 14th, 2010, 4:01 pm

Re: development server trouble

Postby mindfoolgames » March 8th, 2010, 1:02 pm

What happens if you type localhost:8184 in your web browser?

What happens if you drop to the command prompt and type

telnet localhost 8184



If your server isn't running, you should get a message letting you know you can't connect.

You might have some kind of firewall issue.
mindfoolgames
 
Posts: 9
Joined: January 31st, 2010, 12:23 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 8th, 2010, 1:22 pm

No i mean i've been ignoring it as in i haven't been using the dev server.

when i type it in my browser it connects, but gets "Some content or files on this webpage require a program that you don't have installed." which i think is normal.

when i type it into a command prompt it says its not recognized as an internal or external command, operable proram or batch file. if you mean ping localhost:8184 it says it could not find host localhost:8184 and tells me to check the name and try again.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby Oliver » March 8th, 2010, 2:14 pm

Hey,

I've written a small app that pretends to be a game and connects to the local development server, and writes out any error messages.

TestConnectivity.png
TestConnectivity.png (21.17 KiB) Viewed 68228 times


You can use it to test if there are any issues with firewalls etc...

TestConnection.zip
(107.79 KiB) Downloaded 1397 times


- Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 9th, 2010, 2:13 am

strange... the tool you created works perfectly. nothing wrong. it connects, creates a room, no errors etc. so i'll have to assume my problem is flash-side. This makes sense, because i just saw now that 10-20 seconds after the initial "unable to connect" error, another error "Error: Connection disallowed by server policy" pops up. No idea what that means.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby loucsam » March 9th, 2010, 3:42 am

As of a few days ago I can't get my app connecting to the developer server running on my system.
Just keeps saying connecting.

I have updated the playerio and .net libraries folders with new version.

I'll see how this connection test thing goes.

Cheers,
Max
loucsam
 
Posts: 23
Joined: March 1st, 2010, 8:46 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby Benjaminsen » March 9th, 2010, 1:15 pm

There is two things I would like you to try.

1: Copy the project to another location and run it. You should then get a new firewall warning where you can allow the request.
2: Ensure that Local playback security is set to "Access Network Only" in Flash Publish settings.

If this does nothing, can one of you zip up a project and send it in this direction so I can try it on my local computer?
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 9th, 2010, 1:25 pm

nope. nothing working. still getting "Error: Unable to connect to development server on localhost:8184. Is the development server running?" (and yes it is runnign)
then about 30 seconds later : "Error: Connection disallowed by server policy"

btw there are no errors when i call connect(), its only when i get to the createJoinRoom part that the errors pop up.

the project i sent you a while ago had the problem, so if it worked fine on your computer i'll have to assume its my problem. if you dont have it anymore just tell me and i'll resend it.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby loucsam » March 9th, 2010, 1:33 pm

Not sure what broke it, but it is working again.

It's possible my problem was I didn't rebuild the dll after the server/playerio upgrade. Not sure really.

For a while I couldnt even login to the forums either.

Anyway my problem has disappeared. Thanks.

Cheers,
Max
loucsam
 
Posts: 23
Joined: March 1st, 2010, 8:46 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby Benjaminsen » March 9th, 2010, 1:43 pm

playstation3Dood wrote:nope. nothing working. still getting "Error: Unable to connect to development server on localhost:8184. Is the development server running?" (and yes it is runnign)
then about 30 seconds later : "Error: Connection disallowed by server policy"

btw there are no errors when i call connect(), its only when i get to the createJoinRoom part that the errors pop up.

the project i sent you a while ago had the problem, so if it worked fine on your computer i'll have to assume its my problem. if you dont have it anymore just tell me and i'll resend it.


Oki next step. Download the current development package, try running the tic tac toe example from there. Does that work?
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 9th, 2010, 3:16 pm

OK now this is extremely weird. here is what i did:
i opened the projects in flash/VC#, (changed c# projects to .net 3.5)
ran the server, then the flash
connected fine, clicked create room in the lobby
same old errors reared their ugly heads, exit the flash
rerun the flash, but the room i just created is in the list!
click join, old errors pop up again...

so it seems everything is fine, even up to creating rooms, but when trying to join the room it fails. just like i said in a previous post it connects fine but when i call createJoinRom it shoots errors. another thing i noticed was, when using the tool you provided above the dev server would open a new tab labeled with the id of the created room. this was not the case here. so it seems the room was created, as it could be listed, but the server didn't open a second tab as it should, like it wasn't responding properly or something. strange.

oh and by the way the combo package is still marked as ver. 1.0.5 on the download page...

anyway, i'm calling it a night and going to bed.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 10th, 2010, 1:26 am

just a quick question, is it possible to connect to a dev server on another computer? and if i were to run it on another computer, would the port be the same? the ip wouldn't i know.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 10th, 2010, 2:46 am

ok i stil got the same problems on this computer, but when i stick the server into another computer and replace localhost with its ip, everything is dandy. no problems whatsoever. i suppose its safe to assume that its exclusively my problem.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 10th, 2010, 8:24 am

afer working a few hours on two computers, one with flash and one with C#, i have decided to do so for the rest of my project. thanks to all who have offered their help in this thread, especially the devs.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby Oliver » March 10th, 2010, 10:58 am

ok i stil got the same problems on this computer, but when i stick the server into another computer and replace localhost with its ip, everything is dandy. no problems whatsoever. i suppose its safe to assume that its exclusively my problem.


That sounds an awful lot like it's the firewall on that machine; but you write "Edit: i have disabled windows firewall and my kaspersky, but it does not help."; which lets us think it's the flash. But then you write that you can connect to the dev server on another machine from flash on the same machine, which makes me even more confused!

I'm thinking it has something to do with the crossdomain/can-connect security things in flash...

We would LOVE to get to the bottom of this, and get it fixed regardless if it's just your machine or our software.

I'm thinking an idea could be that we setup some sort of screensharing session, where we can debug directly on your machine... Would you be open to that?

- Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 10th, 2010, 11:04 am

sure no problem. just tell me when and how.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby Oliver » March 10th, 2010, 1:21 pm

SKype has a button for it, so that would be easiest.

Can you PM me your Skype name, and we can set a time via skype?
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » March 10th, 2010, 11:32 pm

pm sent

btw i usually tend to stay invisible, so you can still try too contact me if i appearto be offline.
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby JefferE » March 27th, 2010, 3:13 pm

Same problem here - ever get resolved other than by workaround?

http://screencast.com/t/OTJhZDc5

Windows firewall and AV software turned off at the time.

Brand new, just downloaded playerIO combo pack (Flash Combo Package.ljhsKV79pNtz5JKcXPuQng.zip).

Followed all instructions, rebuilt both projects in the solution, still same issue.

We could try to arrange a time for you to troubleshoot on my machine, maybe early next week.
JefferE
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 27th, 2010, 3:07 pm

Re: development server trouble

Postby Benjaminsen » March 28th, 2010, 11:30 am

JefferE wrote:Same problem here - ever get resolved other than by workaround?

http://screencast.com/t/OTJhZDc5

Windows firewall and AV software turned off at the time.

Brand new, just downloaded playerIO combo pack (Flash Combo Package.ljhsKV79pNtz5JKcXPuQng.zip).

Followed all instructions, rebuilt both projects in the solution, still same issue.

We could try to arrange a time for you to troubleshoot on my machine, maybe early next week.


Just to be sure, I assume you ran the server-side project before running the Flash project?
Can I get you to run "netstat -a -b" from a console to see if the server is indeed listening to port 8184 when running.

Likewise try using 127.0.0.1 directly instead of localhost as your host file might be pointing in the wrong direction.
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: development server trouble

Postby JefferE » March 28th, 2010, 3:48 pm

Yes, it was running. Just tested again.

It appears to be listening correctly: http://screencast.com/t/ZmVlMjVkNG
JefferE
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 27th, 2010, 3:07 pm

Re: development server trouble

Postby default0 » March 30th, 2010, 8:30 pm

I got the same problem :/
User avatar
default0
 
Posts: 115
Joined: February 2nd, 2010, 6:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: development server trouble

Postby Benjaminsen » March 31st, 2010, 5:25 pm

Quick Question.

What operative system do all of you with issues run?

/Chris
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: development server trouble

Postby default0 » March 31st, 2010, 5:26 pm

Windows Vista Home Premium x86
User avatar
default0
 
Posts: 115
Joined: February 2nd, 2010, 6:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: development server trouble

Postby JefferE » March 31st, 2010, 5:57 pm

Same for me Vista Home Premium, SP1

Haven't had a chance to let you have access yet. Been kind of crazy this week.
JefferE
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 27th, 2010, 3:07 pm

Re: development server trouble

Postby playstation3Dood » April 7th, 2010, 1:31 am

Due to some issues I reinstalled by computer, and now my problem is solved. So it seems some other programs conflict with the connection perhapse?

and sorry oliver that we never got to chat on skype, as it's probably late at night here when you log on there :D
playstation3Dood
 
Posts: 49
Joined: February 23rd, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby Oliver » April 7th, 2010, 9:36 am

Yea, i'm sorry we never got to meet up, but awesome that it works now.

Quick question: Did you run Vista before and reinstall Vista? We think it might be a vista-only issue...
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: development server trouble

Postby JefferE » April 7th, 2010, 1:19 pm

I still have the problem Oliver but I've been so flat out I haven't had a chance to connect with you on it. I assume it might be a conflict for mine as well - I have a ton of different development enviroments and apps on this machine.
JefferE
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 27th, 2010, 3:07 pm

Re: development server trouble

Postby Benjaminsen » April 7th, 2010, 1:22 pm

JefferE wrote:I still have the problem Oliver but I've been so flat out I haven't had a chance to connect with you on it. I assume it might be a conflict for mine as well - I have a ton of different development enviroments and apps on this machine.


Running Vista?
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Next

Return to Multiplayer