Forum C# Authorize Development Server Loop

Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » May 8th, 2011, 1:34 am

Hi, I'm trying to use the development server to test my game locally. Everytime I try to build and test, I get the "Authorize Development Server" window that pops up. I type in my username and password, and click OK. I know it's the right username and password, because if I type the password wrong it tells me "Invalid Password" in red, below the password box.

What ends up happening, is this "Authorize Development Server" window keeps popping up over and over, no matter how many times I enter the correct username/password combination.

Any ideas why this is happening? Sorry if it's a dumb question, I searched the forum and google for about 30 mins to find an answer, but no luck. Any help is greatly appreciated.
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Oliver » May 10th, 2011, 1:56 pm

Hey,

I've heard one other report of this issue. Is this something you're only experiencing now after the latest update (2.2.1) or did you also have it with earlier versions?

- Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » May 10th, 2011, 3:50 pm

It wasn't happening for me a while ago. One of the recent updates caused it I think, maybe the one before the current one.
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Oliver » May 11th, 2011, 10:34 am

Which OS? Could you perhaps try running visual studio as administrator (this is a shot in the dark...)

- Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » May 13th, 2011, 1:44 pm

Sry for the delay in responding, Its windows 7 64-bit
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » May 13th, 2011, 1:45 pm

Also, I already tried to run it as an admin, and had no luck with that.
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » May 14th, 2011, 6:00 pm

I find it odd that I am one of the only 2 people having trouble with this. This has to be something simple to fix, what am I missing here?
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby knorsen » May 15th, 2011, 5:23 pm

I have the same issue. Windows 7 64-bit as well. Tried both the VS2010 and VS2008 solutions, same result. I can still use the DLL by uploading to the Player.IO server and connecting that way, but no debugging then, and that kind of limits things.
knorsen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 15th, 2011, 4:52 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » May 16th, 2011, 12:21 am

Yea, I have been doing the same thing to test, but it makes debugging it kind of a pain.

I've also been adding

PlayerIO.ErrorLog.WriteError("string");

to my c# code to help with the debugging, so I can write stuff to the error log in the admin section on this site. But I still have to clear the log before I go to test each time. Maybe that can help you out knorsen, if you haven't been doing it already.

I'm still stumped on why this is happening however.

Could it be that I'm using the express version of ms visual 2010 c#?
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby knorsen » May 16th, 2011, 12:29 am

I have the full versions of VS2008 and VS2010, so I don't think it has anything to do with the version of Visual Studio you have.
(Have also tried the run as admin trick, with no success).
Very strange bug....
knorsen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 15th, 2011, 4:52 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Oliver » May 17th, 2011, 12:53 pm

Hi,

Would it be possible for one of you guys to PM me your username and passwords, and then i'll try directly with them? Perhaps it's an issue with encoding of password strings or something?

If you're not comfortable with that, try changing your player.io passwords to something simple [a-zA-Z]+ in the admin panel and report back if it changes anything.

Best,
Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » May 18th, 2011, 3:43 am

Hi Oliver,

I tried changing my password and then testing to see if it worked in the development environment, but no luck.

It has to be something that can be resolved I'm assuming since it was working a few versions ago, but then again, there was no login screen at all for me back when it was working. And I'm assuming that you added the login screen for security reasons, so I guess I'm outta luck on this for the time being.

Thanks for trying to resolve this though, let me know if you think of anything else.
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby niraj » June 22nd, 2011, 5:05 am

i am also having same error
i could test using dev server few days ago
now it just keeps me asking user name and password again and again
i have tried running as admin and changing the password via admin panel
but nothing worked.

i am under windows 7 home edition 32 bit

thanks
Niraj
niraj
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 12th, 2011, 6:56 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby regniraj » June 23rd, 2011, 6:20 am

i tried everything
upgraded .net framework
deleted temp files
updated the latest player.io dev server
but nothing made me run the deve server
can any one help me please
i need to show my boss on how to develop and deploy this friday
regniraj
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 23rd, 2011, 6:15 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Vu » August 19th, 2011, 7:04 pm

Hi,

I am having the same problem where the login window keeps popping up after attempting to log in.

Has a solution to this problem been found?

I am running windows 7 64-bit also.

Thanks,
~Strega
Vu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 19th, 2011, 6:39 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » August 19th, 2011, 7:06 pm

Strega,

I have yet to find a solution for this. Hoping this will be taken care of in the one of the upcoming updates.
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Vu » August 19th, 2011, 7:09 pm

Thanks for the quick reply,

I guess I'll hold off on trying to implement multiplayer.

It seemed like you had a work around that still allowed you to develop, but not debug from c#?

~Vu
Vu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 19th, 2011, 6:39 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby mgray417 » August 19th, 2011, 7:27 pm

I've been using

PlayerIO.ErrorLog.WriteError("string");

in the C# code because it (usually) will show the error in your error log under the admin section of the player.io site. It's slightly helpful for me, doesn't always show what I want it to show however, seems like it will randomly ignore that code at times (could be my crappy code though, lol).

I've pretty much given up on trying to fix it at this point, so if you figure something out, please let me know!
mgray417
Paid Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Oliver » August 29th, 2011, 9:40 pm

Can we setup a screensharing session over skype with any of you guys where we can see and interact with the auth-loop to try and get it fixed? PM me skypename.

- Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby bytescape » September 2nd, 2011, 4:31 am

I'm also having the same issue, but only on my home computer (work computer loads it up just fine). I'm running Windows 7 64-bit on both machines.
bytescape
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 11:39 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Oliver » September 2nd, 2011, 5:05 am

Could one of you try installing fiddler (http://www.fiddler2.com/fiddler2/) and send me a dump of the requests it keep doing in a loop? Ideally the raw input & output.

Best,
Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby bytescape » September 2nd, 2011, 5:30 am

I'm on it. brb.
bytescape
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 11:39 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby bytescape » September 2nd, 2011, 6:25 pm

Oliver wrote:Could one of you try installing fiddler (http://www.fiddler2.com/fiddler2/) and send me a dump of the requests it keep doing in a loop? Ideally the raw input & output.


Did you get my private message with the Fiddler results? I can't tell if it actually sent or not (it is in outbox instead of sent folder).
bytescape
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 11:39 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Oliver » September 6th, 2011, 7:40 pm

I got it, just haven't gotten around to looking at it before now.

Best,
Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Fandr » August 6th, 2014, 10:20 am

I have the same problem...
Someone found a solution?

I'm downloaded a latest version of SDK (v3.0.10, released July 29th 2014 )
I'm trying this tutorial: https://gamesnet.yahoo.com/documentatio ... mbopackage
When I open and run "Serverside Code.VS2010.sln", I have an exception:
Exception Joining Cluster: PlayerIO.GameLibrary.PlayerIOError: An unexpected error occurred inside the Player.IO webservice. Please try again.
at PlayerIO.ServerCore.PlayerIOClient.PlayerIOChannel.MultiplayerChannel.Call[A,O,E](Int32 methodId, A args)
at PlayerIO.ServerCore.PlayerIOClient.PlayerIOChannel.JoinCluster(String clusterAccessKey, Boolean isDevelopmentServer, List`1 ports, String machineName, String version, String machineId, String os, String cpu, UInt32 cpuCores, UInt32 cpuLogicalCores, UInt32 cpuAddressWidth, UInt32 cpuMaxClockSpeed, UInt32 ramMegabytes, UInt32 ramSpeed)
at PlayerIO.ServerCore.identifier43.JoinCluster(String clusterAccessKey, Assembly callingAssembly)
at PlayerIO.DevelopmentServer.DevServer.TryStart()

I'm using Microsoft Visual Studio 2013. My Firewall is switched off.
After runing I get the "Authorize Development Server" window pops up, when I type my username and password, and click OK, its window pops up again with the same exception...

screenshot:
Image

Any ideas to resolve this problem?
Thanks...
Fandr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: August 6th, 2014, 8:40 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby vspin » August 6th, 2014, 10:37 am

I haven't found a solution. It seems the login is authenticated, but then errors and returns to login screen. Here are other posters (myself included) with the same issue:

https://gamesnet.yahoo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=35677&sid=3532faa0c1ece2084d47ca8e108d1065#p48499

https://gamesnet.yahoo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=35695#p48492


By any chance are you using Windows 7 64-bit?
vspin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: August 5th, 2014, 8:10 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Fandr » August 6th, 2014, 10:53 am

vspin wrote:By any chance are you using Windows 7 64-bit?

yes, my OS is Windows 7 64-bit...
Fandr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: August 6th, 2014, 8:40 am

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby vspin » August 6th, 2014, 8:42 pm

Oh, I see. Everyone with this issue seems to have Windows 7 64-bit, except one:

https://gamesnet.yahoo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1644#p6185


Hmm, maybe it's just a Windows 7 issue, or maybe most people are using Windows 7 64-bit now days...

I have been watching this forum for almost two days now and I have to say that there doesn't seem to be much activity/support going on, unfortunately. I've even emailed a moderator with no reply, but it's been less than 24 hours.
vspin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: August 5th, 2014, 8:10 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Henrik » August 6th, 2014, 9:09 pm

This issue should be fixed now and you should all be able to use your development servers again.

The problem was on the server-side, not with the development server itself, so there's no new SDK version you need to download, the current one should work just fine.
Henrik
.IO
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: January 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Re: Authorize Development Server Loop

Postby Fandr » August 6th, 2014, 9:55 pm

Henrik wrote:This issue should be fixed now and you should all be able to use your development servers again.

The problem was on the server-side, not with the development server itself, so there's no new SDK version you need to download, the current one should work just fine.


Thanks!!
Server Started
========================
(waiting for connection)

Trying last loaded dll

Using Game Dll: FridgeMagnets.dll
========================
(dll: D:\WORK\Yahoo Games Network SDK\Flash\Example - Multiplayer - FridgeMagnets\Serverside Code\Player.IO Test Server Project\bin\Debug\FridgeMagnets.dll)
Fandr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: August 6th, 2014, 8:40 am


Return to C#