Forum Multiplayer Need Help Getting Started with Multiplayer

Discussion and help relating to the PlayerIO Multiplayer API.

Need Help Getting Started with Multiplayer

Postby RossD20Studios » March 12th, 2018, 4:54 pm

Greetings PlayerIO Community,

I'm just getting started with Multiplayer programming in PlayerIO. In the past, I've written multiplayer using AS3 and SmartFox Server Pro, so I recognize and am familiar with many of the similar structures used (rooms, etc.). I'm new to C# and using Visual Studio.

I'm attempting to follow the "Getting started doc" located https://playerio.com/documentation/tuto ... mbopackage

I'm working on Mac OSX 10.12.5 and I've installed Visual Studio Community. I was able to successfully load the solution and run the server. When I ran the server, I was prompted for my PlayerIO login (which I provided) then the window closed and no further information appeared. Then, I published the FridgeMagnets.fla, received a successful connection trace, and then watched on my PlayerIO dashboard to see that indeed a room had been created.

The trouble I am having is the ability to test multiple windows at the same time to confirm that multiplayer is functioning. Every time that I attempt to open a second instance of FridgeMagnets.swf, the server connection is lost on all instances. For a brief moment, I was able to confirm that state changes were being received. To do this, I opened a FridgeMagnets.swf, then compiled a second instance and for about 1 second it ran and reflected a shared game state between the two.