Forum Multiplayer Unblocking PlayerIO in the company network

Discussion and help relating to the PlayerIO Multiplayer API.

Unblocking PlayerIO in the company network

Postby MoDDiB » June 9th, 2017, 11:15 am

Hello,
my videogame company has a strict network policy and I want to use your service here.
But the network administrator needs the port ( 8184 right ? ) AND he needs the IP or a FQDN.
Is it possible to obtain this ?

Thank you
MoDDiB
 
Posts: 30
Joined: July 13th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Re: Unblocking PlayerIO in the company network

Postby Henrik » June 11th, 2017, 5:57 am

You don't need to open any inbound ports if you just want to run a game client and the development server locally.

The only time you would need to allow inbound traffic from the internet would be if you want live traffic on your development server for testing and debugging purposes, but that's a pretty rare occurrence.
Henrik
.IO
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: January 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Re: Unblocking PlayerIO in the company network

Postby MoDDiB » June 12th, 2017, 8:36 am

Henrik wrote:You don't need to open any inbound ports if you just want to run a game client and the development server locally.

Not so trivial, because wifi and development server are on different networks, but we can handle this, that's not the problem.

Henrik wrote:The only time you would need to allow inbound traffic from the internet would be if you want live traffic on your development server for testing and debugging purposes, but that's a pretty rare occurrence.

During preproduction time we want to test everyday on production server, we need to get the same conditions as players, it's about sensations, sure it's easy to simulate lag, but there's alaways some differences....
MoDDiB
 
Posts: 30
Joined: July 13th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Re: Unblocking PlayerIO in the company network

Postby Henrik » June 12th, 2017, 9:04 pm

MoDDiB wrote:Not so trivial, because wifi and development server are on different networks, but we can handle this, that's not the problem.

Good, you just need to be able to reach the development server on port 8184 from your client development machine, that's all up to your internal network.

MoDDiB wrote:During preproduction time we want to test everyday on production server, we need to get the same conditions as players, it's about sensations, sure it's easy to simulate lag, but there's alaways some differences....

If you want to play the game on the production servers, you don't need to open any inbound ports, since your client will just connect out to our servers, which should be fine.
Henrik
.IO
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: January 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Re: Unblocking PlayerIO in the company network

Postby MoDDiB » June 12th, 2017, 9:38 pm

Henrik wrote:If you want to play the game on the production servers, you don't need to open any inbound ports, since your client will just connect out to our servers, which should be fine.

It's not possible to join a room because of the strict network policy, to allow access to a game server, our network administrator needs a port and an IP/fqdn.
MoDDiB
 
Posts: 30
Joined: July 13th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Re: Unblocking PlayerIO in the company network

Postby Henrik » June 12th, 2017, 11:19 pm

When you call any kind of JoinRoom, your game client gets back an address and a list of ports, that the client then tries to connect to the game server on.

Servers are occasionally rotated, so this list won't stay accurate for very long. Your best bet is to figure out which server and port the game client is trying to connect to, either using some sort of sniffer, or maybe netstat will be enough if you can filter out everything else.

Ports:
80, 443, 53, 911, 1200, 4505, 8184, 27000
Hosts:
gs37.playerio.com
gs39.playerio.com
gs48.playerio.com
gs49.playerio.com
gs50.playerio.com
gs51.playerio.com
Henrik
.IO
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: January 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Re: Unblocking PlayerIO in the company network

Postby MoDDiB » June 13th, 2017, 7:44 am

Ok thank you we will try this !
MoDDiB
 
Posts: 30
Joined: July 13th, 2014, 8:41 pm


Return to Multiplayer



cron