Forum Multiplayer fridge magnets never appear

Discussion and help relating to the PlayerIO Multiplayer API.

fridge magnets never appear

Postby adahy » April 13th, 2010, 11:19 am

So i start the server in MS visual C# and I can connect the clients but then I get a blank white screen. I would think it would be a connection or port issue but I am pretty confident it is not. Also, I can connect with the tictactoe code, create a room, and have another client join that room from the lobby but both screens say waiting for other player.

Any idea on what I am doing wrong? Any help is much appreciated! thank you!
adahy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: April 13th, 2010, 9:14 am

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby Benjaminsen » April 13th, 2010, 11:30 am

Does the server spawn a new tab saying that the game is running?
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby adahy » April 13th, 2010, 11:44 am

Benjaminsen wrote:Does the server spawn a new tab saying that the game is running?

Yes, it does. I also see this in the first tab before an instance of the flash file is launched.
Game Errors:
========================
(dll: C:\Users\Master\Desktop\playerio\FridgeMagnets\.NET Libraries\Test Server Project\bin\Debug\FridgeMagnets.dll)
Reference found to a .NET dll (mscorlib) from .NET version 4.0.0.0. Only up to .NET 3.5 is currently supported


Game Loaded.
========================
(dll: <bounce game>)
(waiting for connection)


Do you think this has anything to do with not being able to see the fridge magnets appear?
adahy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: April 13th, 2010, 9:14 am

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby adahy » April 13th, 2010, 11:52 am

I have turned my firewall off but when I use Oliver's access test program it fails to connect to localhost:8184.
But when I try localhost:80 I get the success message. Can I change the code in my .as files to connect to localhost:80?
I tried that but still seeing the same problem.
adahy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: April 13th, 2010, 9:14 am

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby Benjaminsen » April 13th, 2010, 11:59 am

Port 80 is a webserver you must be running on localhost. Find where the development-server is defined in the flash project. What does it say it should connect to? Should be localhost:8184
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby adahy » April 13th, 2010, 12:07 pm

Benjaminsen wrote:Port 80 is a webserver you must be running on localhost. Find where the development-server is defined in the flash project. What does it say it should connect to? Should be localhost:8184

the developmentServer is set to localhost:8184. Any idea what is up with the error message I get? Is that the problem? I am using traces to see where the code is going and it looks like it stops right after
Code: Select all
connection.addMessageHandler("init", function(m:Message, myid:int){
in the FridgeMagnets.as file.
adahy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: April 13th, 2010, 9:14 am

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby Benjaminsen » April 13th, 2010, 2:56 pm

You need to set the C# project to export to .NET 3.5 or below. Otherwise it will not work. Sorry that I missed that before.

/Chris
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby adahy » April 13th, 2010, 3:46 pm

Ok, that's what I thought. How do I convert them back to 3.5? I can't find a way to save as or export and any other option. Does everyone use an outdated version of MS C#? I am using 2010 express.
=====

ok, I am installing C# 2008. I will report back if that does the trick.
adahy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: April 13th, 2010, 9:14 am

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby adahy » April 13th, 2010, 4:28 pm

It worked. I installed visual 2008 and recopied the zip file of examples. It worked the first time. Thanks Benjaminsen
adahy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: April 13th, 2010, 9:14 am

Re: fridge magnets never appear

Postby B1gSmurf » May 5th, 2010, 10:51 am

You don't have to install visual c# 2008. In visual c# 2010, open the project 'serverside game code'. Go to 'Project' -> 'Serverside game code properties', and set 'Target Framework' to .NET framework 3.5
B1gSmurf
 
Posts: 1
Joined: May 5th, 2010, 10:26 am


Return to Multiplayer