Forum QuickConnect Security Issues with QuickConnect

Discussion and help relating to PlayerIO's QuickConnect feature, including Facebook Connect and Kongregate Connect.

Security Issues with QuickConnect

Postby MayaArcana » July 3rd, 2012, 4:24 am

Hello everyone!

I'm pretty new to developing games, so feel free to go ahead and correct me if I make any mistakes :D

I recently worked on a login system that uses the SimpleUsers feature (really simple <3 ) I have 2 questions regarding this:

1. The codes that I've researched and found online seem to be made for the client-side (for which I'm using Unity3D). For login, would it not be better to put it into the server-side?

2. In the following situation:
    - The login codes are written in the client-side
    - I'm concerned with security so I use WireShark to check data that is being sent for this game
    - The data that is being sent is not encrypted i.e. I can see the username and password that I use to login for this game...as well as any objects that I wish to save to the PlayerObjects db.
My question is: Am I missing out some encryption item or step here? I've simply used the SimpleUser login/registration codes that are readily available on the documentation.

Any and all help is appreciated =))
MayaArcana

Re: Security Issues with QuickConnect

Postby Henrik » July 3rd, 2012, 10:32 pm

MayaArcana wrote:1. The codes that I've researched and found online seem to be made for the client-side (for which I'm using Unity3D). For login, would it not be better to put it into the server-side?

That changes nothing, you still have to transmit your username/password to the server somehow, but now you have two states in serverside code, both authenticated and anonymous.

MayaArcana wrote:My question is: Am I missing out some encryption item or step here? I've simply used the SimpleUser login/registration codes that are readily available on the documentation.