Forum QuickConnect "QuickConnect for Facebook" vs "Adobe ActionScript 3 SDK"?

Discussion and help relating to PlayerIO's QuickConnect feature, including Facebook Connect and Kongregate Connect.

"QuickConnect for Facebook" vs "Adobe ActionScript 3 SDK"?

Postby mrgreen » April 13th, 2011, 5:25 pm

I am still slightly bit confused with the above, that how does your "QuickConnect for Facebook" compare with the "Adobe ActionScript 3 SDK"?

Sorry im new to both Facebook and PlayerIO so I might be asking some obviously stupid questions, but here they go:

1) They are both implementations for the same thing right? the Facebook JavaScript SDK OpenGraph API?
so PlayerIO has a whole new and Conflicting implementation of the Facebook SDK, and NOT an add on to Adobe version? Is there a reason for this?

2) It seems that the Adobe version has more features? (might be totally wrong)
Also it seems your version relies on external Javascript to interact with Facebook?
Where as the Adobe AS3 SDK, has an alternative for "FacebookDesktop.as" implementation, that could be used for instance on sites where you cant access Javascript?

Like I've noticed that to post onto the user's Wall, the PlayerIO implementation requires Javascript? Where as I think on the Adobe version you can do that without Javascript???

Also in Adobe SDK, to be able to access the user's details upon successful authentication is very simple:
Code: Select all
success.user.name;

where as with the PlayerIO version, you have to run another FB query? (maybe im wrong here, in the seedlings example i couldn't find an easy way in the "handleConnect" method to access the main user's details )

3) Is there a way to use both? Like to be able to somehow use the same access token? I suppose I need to login with PlayerIO, as that also logs into your back-end, but then somehow be able to re-use the same token and access stuff via the Adobe AS3 SDK ? Would this be possible & worthwhile ??

M
mrgreen