Forum QuickConnect Keeping a unified user database?(SimpleUsers, Facebook,Kong)

Discussion and help relating to PlayerIO's QuickConnect feature, including Facebook Connect and Kongregate Connect.

Keeping a unified user database?(SimpleUsers, Facebook,Kong)

Postby mrgreen » April 7th, 2011, 2:04 pm

Hi I am new to both PlayerIO and database managed games, and my question may be obvious so bear with me!

What I want is a game that could authenticate players via both its own SimpleUsers login system and Facebook, but keep a unified database of the two, with one account details kept for the player no matter where/how he logs on?

IE:
1) A player may visit, lets say NewGrounds, and log into the game via the games dedicated login system and access his saved details.
2) Then maybe this same player visits facebook, and plays the game as a Facebook app, where he is authenticated via Facebook's own system, and be able to access the same account, and continue the game where he left off on newgrounds?

Of course you also have the scenario, where the player plays the game first on Newgrounds, so he registers his account as a SimpleUsers account, but then later discovers the game as a facebook app, and may want to continue the game with the details/achievements he got back on newgrounds. So I suppose there would need to be a feature to "Link" or "Merge" accounts ?

I hope this makes sense?! Is this feature possible/supported?

Martin
mrgreen

Re: Keeping a unified user database?(SimpleUsers, Facebook,Kong)

Postby Henrik » April 8th, 2011, 1:42 am

No, there's no feature like this.

What you could do is have your game make two connections, one through each authentication method, and then copy the data from one to the other, but they wouldn't stay linked. You could even make a special roomtype for it, and have both connections join the same room, and then you could copy data server-side.
Henrik
.IO

Postby Benjaminsen » April 8th, 2011, 9:52 am