Forum BigDB Key of newly created Object ?

Discussion and help relating to the PlayerIO database solution, BigDB.

Key of newly created Object ?

Postby MaToMaStEr » July 29th, 2010, 5:28 am

Hi !

I'm new to Player.IO and want to develop my first game. I just have some problem though

For my idea I would need to know the number of objects stored in certain Table, cause I want to assign each element a unique (but known) Key, so... using an index would be great, something like Auto Increment in SQL.... is this possible ??

One workaround I was thinking was to make an object in the table with an array holding all of the Keys. But for this... I would need to know the randomly generated Key of the object i've just created... so I can add it somehow to the Array.

EDIT: I think I got it. I can use the callback of the createObject() function to get the key of it object! nice...
Now... how would I load the Keys Array... add the new Key, and then overwrite the one in the DB with the updated one ?

Could anyone help me pleease ?
Ok... Thanks in advance for your help !!
Last edited by MaToMaStEr on July 29th, 2010, 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MaToMaStEr

Re: Key of newly created Object ?

Postby Benjaminsen » July 29th, 2010, 11:00 am

Can you describe your use-case a bit more? What is the goal you are trying to achieve.
Benjaminsen
.IO

Postby MaToMaStEr » July 29th, 2010, 2:46 pm

ok, yeah sure.
Basically, I want the player to be able to create Objects and then store them in the DB table.
This Table should be accessible for all the players.
Now, for the important part; there should be an option to load a random object from the Table.
That's why I want to know the Keys of the objects contained.

I was thinking also about having an object with a counter... so the key of the new object is counter+1, and the counter is incremented on every Save. The problem with this though, is... what happens if I delete an object from the table ?