Forum General .net client and quickconnect

Any issues or discussions relating to Flash development are welcome here.

.net client and quickconnect

Postby Cyclone103 » September 24th, 2010, 12:39 am

Since there's no forum for the .net client, I'll just post this here.

How on earth do you specify the connection you're using? I know you can in the normal connect function.
Cyclone103
 
Posts: 155
Joined: January 18th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Re: .net client and quickconnect

Postby Henrik » September 24th, 2010, 1:40 am

You specify which connection to use on the QuickConnect setup page for your game in the admin panel.
Henrik
.IO
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: January 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Re: .net client and quickconnect

Postby Cyclone103 » September 24th, 2010, 3:12 am

What if you want to use more than one? That sorta defeats the whole purpose of having multiple types of connection if you can only connect using one...
Cyclone103
 
Posts: 155
Joined: January 18th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Re: .net client and quickconnect

Postby Henrik » September 24th, 2010, 11:53 am

Do you have an example of where you would want to use more than one connection over QuickConnect?
Henrik
.IO
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: January 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Re: .net client and quickconnect

Postby Cyclone103 » September 25th, 2010, 10:11 pm

I don't want one client to be able to write to a database, but I do want another one to. This is the best way to do it securely.
Cyclone103
 
Posts: 155
Joined: January 18th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Re: .net client and quickconnect

Postby Oliver » September 27th, 2010, 11:23 am

QuickConnect only allows using *one* connection (pr. provider: facebook, simple, kong...)

You can use as many connections as you want with the regular connect method.

Nothing says you have to use ONLY QuickConnect OR normal Connect. You can easily use both in your game.

- Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: .net client and quickconnect

Postby Cyclone103 » September 27th, 2010, 7:53 pm

It would just be easier for validation purposes if I could validate admin accounts via quickconnect as well, otherwise this opens a whole 'nother can of worms.
Cyclone103
 
Posts: 155
Joined: January 18th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Re: .net client and quickconnect

Postby Benjaminsen » September 27th, 2010, 8:11 pm

Cyclone103 wrote:It would just be easier for validation purposes if I could validate admin accounts via quickconnect as well, otherwise this opens a whole 'nother can of worms.


Simply create a special admin connection that has admin rights, then check the require authentication for the connection and never share the secret. Now you have an admin user whom only you can connect with.

Say if we allowed QuickConnect to connect with more or less security there would be nothing prevent a user to hack their local game client to connect to the connection with elevated rights.
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark


Return to General



cron