Forum C# Complete newbie question! [player.send()] issues.

Complete newbie question! [player.send()] issues.

Postby zapleaf » August 28th, 2013, 8:01 am

I have no idea how to word this question into google so I hope someone here can help me out.
my problem
Code: Select all
player.Send(Message message);
will not work for me the way I want it to.
This is the basic idea of the code:
// inside a switch statment ...
pPlayer.Send("A");
loadDefaultStats(PlayerStats, pPlayer);
pPlayer.Send("B");
SetPlayerClass(PlayerStats, pPlayer);
pPlayer.Send("C");
pPlayer.Send("ProfileLoaded");

My goal here is to send a message to the client after the profile has been loaded or created. Message A and B will send, along with a send statement inside loadDefaultStats(); Hoever, after I call the SetPlayerClass(); which sets the variables for player base class, the player.send() no longer works. Here is the SetPlayerClass();
public void SetPlayerClass(DatabaseObject playerStats, Player player)
        {
            // ... Here is a lot of code that sets the player base class variables.
            player.Send("D"); // <----  This will not send either!

}

I am completely lost on ideas. I have tried so many things, from changing the way SetPlayerClass() takes in its arguments to recording the entire function. If someone could explain to me what is going on that would be awesome. Thanks! I love learning so do not be hesitant to linking me to some good articles or guides on why I am having this problem. The main reason I did not just half-ass a quick fix is because I wanted to trial and error until I figured out why C# acts this way, but I have hit my wall...
zapleaf

Re: Complete newbie question! [player.send()] issues.

Postby Henrik » August 28th, 2013, 9:15 pm

In what ways does SetPlayerClass modify the pPlayer variable?
Henrik
.IO

Postby zapleaf » August 28th, 2013, 9:40 pm