Forum C# No pointers allowed?

No pointers allowed?

Postby fatezero » April 6th, 2010, 2:17 am

Okay, so I'm new to Player.IO and I've been doing a lot of messing around. Thus far everything has been working beautifully; as an aside I must say that it's a very well designed system. My only problem so far is the inability to pass pointers (or references as C# calls them; I've been using the term pointer for over thirteen years, I'm not about to change the lingo ;D) to a function. It compiles fine, but when I actually go to run the test server it throws an error. Something similar to "MyGame.GameCode.TestFunc(...) has argument/parameter of the non-allowed type: System.Int32&".

I'm a newcomer to C# so it's quite possible that I've screwed something up. But this reads to me as if the Player.IO system itself is disallowing the use of pointers. It seems a bit silly to me, if that's true. Unless there's a massive difference between pointers and the C# reference that I'm not aware of, you'll be taking a huge performance hit over time.

So, anyways, what's the dealio? Am I being stupid? Or are we, on the server-side, completely screwed on the use of pointers?
fatezero

Re: No pointers allowed?

Postby Oliver » April 7th, 2010, 9:23 am

Hi,

Thanks for the kind words about Player.IO, we really appreciate it.

You're half-right, and half-wrong :-)

The right part:
The error message you're seeing is in fact Player.IO telling you that we don't allow you to use explicit pointer manipulation in C#. That includes unsafe code as well. The reason is that we need to ensure that all code will behave in a predictable manner when it's running on our cluster; which is also why you don't have access to the full .NET library of classes (only the widely used safe subset) and why you're not allowed static variables (because you're code might be running on multiple different machines).

The wrong part: