Forum ActionScript 3.0 Double-blind turn based game

Problems and discussions relating to ActionScript 3.0 here.

Double-blind turn based game

Postby AniMoney » June 17th, 2013, 2:11 am

My goal is to make a double-blind game, one where both players make their decisions privately and then they are both revealed simultaneously. A simple example would be rock-paper-scissors, a more complicated example would be Kongai on Kongregrate.

I somewhat understand how to a regular turn based game, where one player goes and then the other. I looked through the tic-tac-toe example to try to understand it. I got the gist of it but wish it was better commented, especially since I'm new to C#.

Could anyone help me out in how to set this up? If someone has a rock-papers-scissors example or something that'd be even better.
AniMoney

Re: Double-blind turn based game

Postby jbrettob » June 22nd, 2013, 9:05 pm

That's an cool idea!

My guess of coding this would be like:
1) Client A & B should tell the server which actions are being executed via a message using connection.Send("EventMessageTypeName", properties);
2) when server received both events from both the clients A & B, then only send a new event to both client to execute the events.

Of course depending on what game your turn based game idea is, it can change a lot with the code. This is somewhat a basic idea for your double-blind turn based game.

For tic-tac-toe it would be:
1) Client A sends a move via a message to the server.
2) Server receives message from client A and send this message to Client B.
3) Client B receive the message from the server and execute the action.
4) Client B can set it's turn and repeat from step 1, until someone wins or the game has ended to a draw.

I don't have a lot of spare time these days, because of my own projects, so I can't help you a lot with some useful code.
Game Designer & Developer | Flash | AS3 | Unity3D | C#
w: jbrettob.com | blog: blog.jbrettob.com | @jbrettob
jbrettob