Forum ActionScript 3.0 Connecting to development server

Problems and discussions relating to ActionScript 3.0 here.

Connecting to development server

Postby Chris018 » March 15th, 2011, 4:07 pm

In my game i have been trying to connect to my dev server and it wont. I know it connects to the backend web service because i can get the guest id from it. But as for the connecting to dev server it just wont create games. So to test i commented out the dev server connection to connect to Player IO server and it connected fine and entered room. Any suggestions? Is there any update i might of missed? Im running Dev Server 2.1.1.0. And i have the AS3 Scripts downloaded as well.
Chris018
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 6th, 2010, 5:36 pm

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby Benjaminsen » March 15th, 2011, 9:00 pm

What operative system are you using?
Benjaminsen
.IO
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 11:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby HAnz » March 15th, 2011, 9:27 pm

It's possible you are using the wrong dll file in the dev server. When running the dev server click on the "something.dll" at the top and then browse to and select the dll you want to use.
I make games and stuff.
User avatar
HAnz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: August 7th, 2010, 2:59 pm

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby Chris018 » March 16th, 2011, 1:16 am

I'm using windows, And i'm loading the right one because i changed the assemblyName and it updated when i run the game.

I turned off dev server and run client. It pops up saying something like
Code: Select all
Error: Unable to connect to development server on localhost:8184. Is the development server running?
   at bridge::Connection/throwError()
   at Function/<anonymous>()


But with it running i dont get that error but it does not create the room. And ive gotten it connecting before. That was like a week ago. And i have not touched code sense since i have been busy. :?:
Chris018
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 6th, 2010, 5:36 pm

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby Chris018 » March 16th, 2011, 3:41 am

Sorry for double post, I decided to download the dev pack again. From there i re wrote my code into a new C# project. And it still did not work. Idk i was working a week ago. Any suggestions?
Chris018
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 6th, 2010, 5:36 pm

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby Oliver » March 18th, 2011, 10:49 am

Just for kicks, would you try changing "localhost" to "127.0.0.1" in actionscript?

- Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby Chris018 » March 19th, 2011, 1:00 am

It still not working sadly :( . Idk what is wrong. I thought maybe there is an error in c# and like a warning or something that might alter but there is none sadly.
Only Dev OutPut:

Code: Select all
Server Started
========================
(waiting for connection)

Trying last loaded dll

Using Game Dll: Server.dll
========================
(dll: C:\Documents and Settings\Chris\My Documents\Game\Serverside Code\Player.IO Test Server Project\bin\Debug\Server.dll)
Chris018
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 6th, 2010, 5:36 pm

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby Oliver » March 21st, 2011, 5:37 am

What about this, try telnetting to the server in a console:

Code: Select all
telnet localhost 8184


And see what it says. If you're on windows vista/7 you'll have to add Telnet as a windows component in add/remove programs.

- Oliver
User avatar
Oliver
.IO
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby Chris018 » March 21st, 2011, 3:19 pm

When i open console, and enter telnet localhost 8184, it says nothing. i waited a little and still said nothing so then i pressed enter then i get.
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" ?>
                       <cross-domain-policy>
                                                <allow-access-from domain="*" to
-ports="*"/>
            </cross-domain-policy>

Connection to host lost.

C:\Documents and Settings\Chris>
Chris018
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 6th, 2010, 5:36 pm

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby shadowford » June 24th, 2011, 6:24 pm

I am also having the same problem. I can connect to the server and create rooms when I upload the dll files but not when I run it on localhost
shadowford
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 22nd, 2011, 4:53 pm

Re: Connecting to development server

Postby sevans » August 27th, 2013, 5:47 am

A couple years later and I seem to be running into the same issue.

I was able to connect to my local dev server until about 10pm CST tonight.

Any clues? I've seen multiple forum posts about this, all unresolved.
sevans
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 6th, 2013, 9:27 pm


Return to ActionScript 3.0



cron